Hommage to the Sonoran Hot Dog

Posted on 24/01/2011

0


The Sonoran Hot Dog is not found in Rick Bayless’ Authentic Mexican but its something I found too interesting to ignore.  As a displaced Chicagoan I feel like I know a thing or two about hot dogs and the Sonoran is definitely not the Chicago style dog I grew up with.  Exotic and beautiful, she is a different beast all together.  This is my tribute to the Hot Dog Estilo Sonora.

Basically I threw together a bunch of ingredients I had on hand, keeping with the theme of a “hot dog” with Mexican flavors.  I was missing bacon, one of the key ingredients in the Sonoran dog, and I didn’t actually have any hot dogs.  What I did have was some really nice smoked venison sausage.

I cooked the sausages on a griddle until the outsides got a nice char.  I used a sourdough baguette to hold the sausages and all the trimmings: sautéed onion, fire-roasted chile poblano, organic refried beans, homemade guacamole, and a drizzle of homemade crema.

Posted in: off the book