Ensalada de Nopalitos

Posted on 12/01/2011

0


Yesterday, I went back to the fruit market looking for Nopales and there were none to be found.  I should have bought those fresh ones, five days ago, when I had the chance.  So I had to resort to using jarred nopales for my ensalada.

The plus side to using the jarred kind (I used a brand called La Costeña) is it saves a whole lot of prep time, and this dish came together in about 10 minutes.  It’s essentially a coarse Salsa Mexicana with cactus pieces and a simple dressing of oil, vinegar, and Mexican oregano.

In Authentic Mexican, Chef Bayless breaks it down like this – Mexicans like condiments, Americans like salads – and Ensalada de Nopalitos can be served as either.  So I offer you Ensalada de Nopalitos, two ways.  First, resting on a bed of warm tortillas (pretty much everything is better wrapped inside two warm tortillas) and topped with crumbled Queso Cotija.  Secondly, my variation, nopalitos on top of a little taco of chorizo.

