Salsa Picante de Chile de Arbol

Posted on 03/01/2011

0


Hot sauce!  Hey hot sauce! Uh!

Let me start by saying: I love hot sauce, I put it on almost everything but until now I had never made my own.  I was a little surprised by some of the ingredients (clove, allspice, sesame & pumpkin seeds?) but when you taste the finished product it all makes perfect sense.

The sesame and pumpkin seeds required a little toasting in the pan.  The sesame seeds pop and go flying all over place and when the pumpkin seeds pop, they puff up kind of like popcorn.  Chef Bayless’ recipe calls for you to grind your own whole clove, cumin seed, and allspice berries.  Sorry Chef.  One day, when I have my own molcajete, I will grind my own spices.  Until then I’m doing things quick and dirty and using pre-ground.  Also for this recipe I picked up some Mexican Oregano, which has a little different aroma/flavor than standard oregano.

Otherwise it was pretty standard procedure, de-seed your Chiles de Arbol, throw everything in the food processor, and bam!  Right out of the food processor the sauce is thick with pieces of seeds and other little bits, so it really needs to be strained.  I don’t have a proper mesh sieve so I tried using coffee filters, which was a mess.  I ended up wasting a fair amount of liquid in the straining process and only ended up with a scant 1/2 cup or so.

This Salsa Picante  de Chile de Arbol is not what I consider very hot, it tastes a little bit like Tabasco Sauce in a vinegary/peppery sort of way but with so much more flavor.  The toasted seeds and the spices add a lot of depth to the sauce, its sensational.

Tagged: